top of page
Search
  • bethanyfoss

PREGNANCY





Let’s start at the beginning. So Daisey wasn’t planned, we were using the (not recommended) pull out method 🙈 it did work for a good 18 ish months, when the one time we were like ‘ah, just forget it’ resulted in a pregnancy. Just our luck of course!

I found out when I was very early, literally about 3-4 weeks. I was working in a scan clinic at the time, so I told my manager I was pregnant and she said I can go for a scan when I was 6 weeks earliest so as to hopefully see the heartbeat and not to cause me extra worry!

I hadn’t told anyone we were having another baby, obviously aware we’ll get the ‘oh, another one’ ‘your third baby!?’ ‘do you need anymore’ and blah blah blah.

So we went along to our first scan and I was earlier than I thought and there was the tiniest little blimp, the flicker of the heartbeat just seen and we were dated just turned 6 weeks. We were elated, I didn’t realise just how much I wanted this baby and for there to be a heartbeat until there almost wasn’t, I was scanned abdominally first and you couldn’t see the baby, so I was extremely relieved when we saw.

We then decided to had to really start telling atleast our immediate family. I told my mum and Kieran’s mum when I was around 9 weeks, they weren’t best pleased to say the least. It was obviously a shock and we were only in a 2 bedroom flat so it wasn’t ideal, I also suffer horrendously with SPD in pregnancy and I ended up on codeine at around 12 weeks as I was extremely bad.

I had a couple more early scans, including the NHS one as I did have a tiny amount of bleeding and my heart sunk, I have had a miscarriage before so I’m not naive to think everything will always go to plan. My mum came with me and she saw the heart beating and the baby jumping round inside of me and then and there, I just knew everything would be okay and she fell in love with our little blimp.

Everything then went according to plan, we had the testing at 13 weeks and baby was healthy and growing perfectly. The free fluid as seen before, had gone and we were sent away very happy. We announced on Facebook about a week later that we were having another baby.

We then went for our private gender scan at 16 weeks and my family found out what we were having and my work filled a balloon for us to pop at home. (I knew baby was a girl from my mums reaction of ‘well thank god for that!’) I already had two boys, I wanted a princess this time 🙊💗. We popped the balloon in our garden and had a bbq with family and it was a great day. She’s our first daughter and also the first granddaughter for my mum and dad to.

Everything was still going perfectly, we had our 20 week scan and she was again, confirmed a girl and confirmed healthy and no problems or issues whatsoever. She was measuring a little smaller, but we were told that girls generally do and it’s nothing to worry about. So we didn’t & we went and celebrated once again we were having a little baby girl 💗

I was still taking codeine the rest of pregnancy and was told due to this that we’d have to stay for 72 hour observations to make sure the the baby didn’t show any signs of withdrawal. I also had to do this with Leo, so it wasn’t news to me and I was happy to do it. My SPD continued to get worse and my bump was always measuring a little smaller to, due to this it was decided I was going to be induced at 38 weeks but I was allowed a sweep at 37 if I was still in agony and if the baby was still growing well.

I got to 37 weeks and it was just agony. I couldn’t pick up either boy, I couldn’t walk up and down our stairs to leave the building, couldn’t carry shopping, couldn’t roll over in bed. I was literally bedbound and in tears. The midwife came over and did a sweep at home on the Friday and I was 2cm dilated and my cervix was favourable.

My sister was also moving house that weekend, so everything was a little up in the air about what was going to happen if I went into labour mid house move. Luckily she stayed put and arrived just after!

Thank you for reading if you got this far! Next will be my labour story, my 4 minute labour! 😩🙊

#




486 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GRIEF

LABOUR

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page