top of page
Search
  • bethanyfoss

LABOUR



I’m not even sure where to start with my labour. I guess on my notes I technically never was actually ‘in labour’ as I didn’t reach 4cm!

I was booked in to be induced on the 2nd November but due to my severe SPD I had a sweep earlier.

I’d sent Kieran, my sister and the boys into town for pre photo haircuts as I was due to have the baby any day. I wanted them photo ready 🙈

So I was at home, on my own, cleaning and mopping, just nesting. Sat down for a drink and my front waters broke, I was shocked to say the least, they haven’t gone without me being actually in labour before. So I called my sister and told her I’m pretty sure the baby will be here soon as my waters have gone, she said to phone triage and tell them and see what they say. I also called my mum who obviously just asked if I’d been weeing myself 😂😩

So I phoned triage and was advised to go in, I also called my friend who lived down the road from me to come and sit with me in case Daisey decided she was coming there and then.

My mum came and picked me up and Kieran, the boys and my sister met us at the hospital, obviously having had hair cuts first 😂

I’d also phoned my auntie as she was coming to be my birthing partner to. So my mum took the boys to hers and me, my sister, my aunt and Kieran went into triage.

I was placed on a machine to monitor contractions and they wanted to do a speculum to see if my waters had indeed gone. She didn’t need to even use the swab as it was obvious they had. We were offered to either go home and wait for the contractions to become more regular, or we could wait at the hospital.

I chose to stay in the hospital, Leo’s labour was an hour long and I was determined this was going to be different and I would be listened to 🙄🙄

Felt like we were waiting forever for labour to start, I got in the bath at about 4pm and although they were there, they just weren’t painful enough.

At about 7pm, things started picking up, it was getting more painful, more regular and I was getting louder and I wanted pain relief.

I was examined and was 2cm. ‘Nope you’re not in labour, you need to calm down, you can’t have any pain relief yet’ ....

It got to about 7:30 and I was still visibly in pain and I was on a ward and apparently was being to loud so we were moved to a treatment room around the corner, I told her I wasn’t going anywhere if gas and air was not in that room. She told me it was.

I walked round to the other room and was finally given some gas and air, again I was examined and told ‘you’re still 2cm, you need to chill out’..

By this time I was literally screaming. I was saying I was dying, that the pain was physically killing me, I was literally begging them to help me. Still nothing.

Then some faces appeared at the door, that midwife was told off and I was wheeled into labour ward. Finally.

I got on labour ward at 8pm, I literally jumped onto the bed, whipped my knickers off, grabbed the gas and air and pushed Daisey out. At 8:04pm.

4 minutes I was in labour, my placenta took longer than birth did.

It wasn’t like I planned, it was rushed, not in the birthing pool and I wasn’t listened to.


But we were super glad to finally have our healthy beautiful baby girl in our arms.. or so we thought.. 🙁💗

Daisey-May Emma Moore - 5lb 6oz - 30.10.18 💕

238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

GRIEF

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page